Book Awards

2015 Book Awards Winners

The CDA Book Award Committee, chaired by Past President General Audrey Svensson, has announced the winners of the 2015 awards. Author Heath Hardage Lee will be present to receive the award and speak about the winning book, Winnie Davis: Daughter of the Lost Cause, at

2014 Book Awards Winners

2014 - A Disease in the Public Mind: A New Understanding of Why We Fought the Civil War by Thomas Fleming

2013 Book Awards Winners

2013 CDA Book Awards - A Rich Spot of Earth: Thomas Jefferson’s Revolutionary Garden at Monticello by Peter J. Hatch

2011 Book Awards Winners

Awards went to two winners: The Intimate Lives of the Founding Fathers Author: Thomas Fleming Publisher Harper Collins Washington: a Life Author: Ron Chernow Publisher: Penguin Press Young Readers Award to: Stonewall Jackson's Black Sunday School Author: Rickey E. Pittman, illustrated by Lynn Hosegood Publisher: Pelican Publishing Company

2010 Book Awards Winners

Book award to: CIVIL WAR WIVES: The Lives of Angelina Grimke Weld, Varina Howell Davis and Julia Dent Grant Author: Carol Berkin Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Book Award Citation award to: SMALL WONDER: The Little Red Schoolhouse in History and Memory Author: Jonathan Zimmerman Publisher: Yale University Press Young Readers award to: A Picture

2009 Book Awards Winners

Book Award to: Ladies of Liberty Author: Cokie Roberts, Publisher: Harper Collins Young Readers' Award to: Who Was First? Author: Russell Freedman, Publisher: Clarion Books Special Citation Awarded to: Shells- A Cameo of Anne Morrow Lindbergh Author: Virnell A. Bruce

2007 Book Awards Winners

Book Award to: Team of Rivals Author: Doris Kearns Goodwin Publisher: Simon & Schuster Special Citation Awarded to: Jamestowne: The Buried Truth Author: William Kelso Publisher: University of Virginia Press Mayflower Author: Nathaniel Philbrick Publisher: Viking Young Readers’ Award: Saving the Buffalo Author: Albert Marrin Publisher: Scholastic